Whispy Beach Clouds

I have no idea what kind of clouds these are.  I think they are cirrus.  I just like they way they look.  Maybe someday I will learn all the types of clouds that I love to photograph but for right now I really don’t care.  These are just so cool to look at!!!  While I was sitting on the beach a few weeks back the perfectly clear blue sky gave way to these lightly, swirly clouds (possibly called cirrus).  So I put on a polarizer and snapped away.  What causes the clouds to form in these swirly ways.  Must be windy way up high I guess, I’m not a meteorologist either.

These almost look like they are contrails from a group of Blue Angels. I do know that contrail is short for condensation trail so I suppose I do know a little bit about man made clouds.  But these weren’t man made.

My third shot here is my favorite.  After I stared at it for a while I realized that it looked a lot like some waves coming in on the beach or maybe a river rushing by with a slow shutter speed used.  If you squint and change your visual point of focus like one of those magic 3-d images you’ll see what I am talking about.  Look at the middle of the image, doesn’t that look like the water flowing over some rocks in a river? Well it does to me.  Anyway I hope you all enjoy these images as much as I do.  And if anyone out there knows the names of these formations and how they come to be leave me a comment, I would sure like to know.

About mikemeyerphotopro

I've been photographing beautiful clouds and skies and landscapes for 35 years. So that's about all you'll see here. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Beach, Clouds. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Whispy Beach Clouds

  1. Michele says:

    You’re halfway there with cirrus – they’re called cirrus uncinus!

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cirrus_uncinus_cloud

Leave a comment