Fall Color: Part Deux

   Well just when I thought the fall colors around here where fading I found a lot more. I was driving around last weekend through some neighborhoods when I spotted a few of these scenes. I think it is so amazing how you don’t need to go off to any exotic places to find true beauty in nature. Just like a lot of my cloud shots are taken from my back yard, these pictures were from right here in Northern Virginia.  Home of the Beltway and endless traffic.

Image

 

   I like it when the trees are all different colors right next to each other.  Of course you need a nice fir tree too to offset the yellows reds and oranges. This was just at the end of a street. I had to zoom in and make a tight crop due to power lines but you wouldn’t know that unless I told you.  Dang! I just gave away one of my secrets 😉

Image

 

   Here is a maple tree that was just ablaze with color.  Well really just one color, RED!!! It really was this saturated also. I came around a corner and it caught my eye so I had to stop my car and shoot right out the window. The sun had just the right angle on it and the sky was a nice clean blue. Perfect color contrast. Well there goes another one of my secrets. I just stopped my car and shot out the window. I didn’t even put the car into park. Like they always say, the best camera is the one you have with you.  So if you are driving around and have a camera ready you can shoot very easily.  Now I want to warn everyone to be very careful when stopping to take a picture. This was in a neighborhood and there was no traffic. I wouldn’t recommend stopping on the Beltway to shoot out the window.

Image

 

   Here is another one of my favorite fall shots.  Clear blue sky with nice bright yellow trees. These trees were so tall, over 100 feet. The sun was going down so they were illuminated very well with that nice golden sunlight. The blue sky is the perfect back drop and since yellow and blue are opposite colors they contrast perfectly. 

   Well the fall colors are definitely fading here now so I won’t post anymore fall colors.  What’s next??? Well beautiful winter colors of course. Lovely sunsets and the possibility of snow. Speaking of which, the forecast is calling for snow on tuesday. We can only hope for a couple inches to make everything pretty. Well I hope you have enjoyed these pictures. Drop me a line and let me know what you think.  See ya!

About mikemeyerphotopro

I've been photographing beautiful clouds and skies and landscapes for 30 years. So that's about all you'll see here. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

