Wet Trees

   Well it’s another cold, wet, windy weekend here in Northern Virginia.  Didn’t I just post about that kind of weather on the PhotoWalk?  Well, yes I did.  You would think that we are living in an area like Seattle, or Hilo or Ketchikan where lots of rain is normal.  Well in the last two months I think we’ve gotten more rain than the rest of the year combined.  Well when you are walking around Washington DC trying to take pictures of the grey monuments grey weather doesn’t help to much.  But it’s great for enhancing the fall colors of the trees.

   The one great advantage that I like about the rain is how it makes the bark of the trees really dark.  Black even.  That makes the contrast of the leaf colors just go POP!!!  The images here are not enhaced very much.  Just enough to enable my vision.  As I was shooting these earlier today I kept looking at my camera preview and thinking “what the heck am I doing wrong?”  So I adjusted my exposure a little here and a little there.  The images got darker but still didn’t look like what my eyes were seeing.

   The color balance was the biggest issue with my camera settings.  I was shooting raw so it was an easy fix.  I usually set my white balance to Auto and then use camera raw to adjust.  I have been color printing for 27 years so for me a quick color adjustment is easy.  So this is just a quick tip on how to take an “Ugly” day and make a pretty picture.  Hope you enjoy it!

About mikemeyerphotopro

I've been photographing beautiful clouds and skies and landscapes for 30 years. So that's about all you'll see here. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Alaska, Fall Color, Hawaii, Landscape, Photography Tip, Photoshop Tip, Water. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

