Photowalk Part 2

Here are a few more shots from the Photowalk. This one is from the World War II Memorial.  It’s very nice here with all the fountains.  So I decided to combine the fountains with the Washington Monument in the background.

Being from the Atlantic side of the world I thought this was an appropriate shot.  Here is another angle of the fountains.  All the columns around in a circle represent the different states.  Even though this is a relatively new monument it still has the classic feel of all the others in Washington D.C.

Speaking of classic Monuments this is one of them,  The Jefferson Memorial.  You have to take a picture of it right?  Well at twilight is the best time to do this.  Although you really should bring a tri-pod to get a good exposure.  The problem is that the National Park service and the police get kinda crazy if you put a tri-pod down anywhere in the city.  I have heard lots of reasons why.  The best thing to do is either get a permit to use a tri-pod or when one of the officers tell you no, you just respect them and move on. I have heard that on any hard surface of the monuments is a big no, but on the grass is ok.

This is another Monument that is brand spanking new.  So new in fact that it was only dedicated a week ago.  Another place that looks best at twilight with the lights on.  I did not have a tri-pod so I cranked up the ISO settings on my camera, (another great thing about digital) and held my breath.  Remember my lessons on using a slow shutter speed from last year?    https://mikemeyerphotopro.wordpress.com/2010/06/03/hawaiian-sunset/   I was doing this for most of the day on the walk. 

So I hope you have enjoyed my little tour of some of the great monument in Washington D.C.  And just remember the best part: they are all free!!!

About mikemeyerphotopro

I've been photographing beautiful clouds and skies and landscapes for 30 years. So that's about all you'll see here. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Clouds, Landscape, Night Time, Photography Tip, Water. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

