I Survived Irene !!!

   Actually I survived the big earthquake of 2011 also.  What a week it was.  First an earthquake and then a hurricane.  What’s next, a tornado or maybe some locusts.  Is it the end of the world as we know it?  Doubtful, but still pretty exciting.  I have never been in an earthquake that I could feel.  The last two big ones here in Northern Virginia were more like rumbles of thunder. I heard them but didn’t feel them.  This one I heard and felt but didn’t know what it was.  I thought maybe there was a really big helicopter hovering outside my office window.  Or maybe it was our crazy ventilation system that is always making some kind of very strange noise.  The thing about earthquakes is that you can’t really photograph them.

   The hurricane that we had turned out to be quite the photographic bummer also.  I am not one to take pictures of death and destruction to show the human suffering.  Just not my thing.  I like pretty pictures of the clouds before the death and destruction and suffering.  I know that sounds very weird, but hey that’s me.  My house and my neighborhood I think were the only place in Northern Virginia to loose power for very long.  Only fourteen hours, no biggie.  But we never loose power so everyone at work made fun of me on monday after I was bragging how “we never loose power, I’m not worried”.  Luckily the ice cream survived that long in the freezer.

   Now to all the other folks in the country who are still recovering, my sincere thoughts and prayers go out to all of you for a speedy recovery.

  I know it’s a pretty lame post but I thought I had better put something here before the crickets start chirping.  Later Gators,  Mike

About mikemeyerphotopro

I've been photographing beautiful clouds and skies and landscapes for 30 years. So that's about all you'll see here. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Clouds. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

