More Fireworks ***!!!***

     Here’s a couple more shots from Saturday’s fireworks.  I used my 70-300mm lens.  Most exposures were 4 seconds at f11.  Some were 2 seconds if I thought that there were going to be a lot of bursts.  More light equals less time.  I also varied my zooming from all the way out to all the way in.  Some of the close up shots were very cool to see because it was like looking directly into the canister as it exploded.  Shorter exposures didn’t show enough of the fallout.  I choose f11 to start with because I knew that this is my sharpest f-stop with this lens.  I also used an ISO of 200.  The camera was mounted on a tripod and I just gently squeezed the trigger.  Most inportantly the tripod was sitting in the bed of a 2000 Chevy pick-up.  Not a 2001, because that would have just been ridiculous 🙂

 

     All of these images were developed using Adobe Lightroom with minimal adjustments.  The only adjustment I used heavily was the Highlights adjustment.  This helped to bring the pure bright whites back to their original colors.

     The bottom photo I also like because it shows all the boats and people having such a wonderful time on the water.  Of course with over a 1000 boats out there, there was now way I was going to put my boat in the middle of that mess but, great for everyone else.  Besides it would be very hard to stabilize a picture in a boat that’s rocking.  Now just imagine Stars and Stripes Forever playing.  Happy Fourth of July!

About mikemeyerphotopro

I've been photographing beautiful clouds and skies and landscapes for 30 years. So that's about all you'll see here. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Fireworks, Night Time, Photography Tip, Water. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More Fireworks ***!!!***

  1. kellydamaj says:

    Your photographs of the fireworks are Amazing!

Leave a Reply

