Amazing Photoshop Tip

     The other day my good friend Sandy gave me a very old picture of her dad and asked if I could scan it and clean it up.  Sure, no problem I said and took the pictures home to scan them.  Her dad passed away a long time ago and she just wanted to make sure the pictures would last a lot longer.  So the plan was to clean them up a little bit and then make some prints and burn the final images to a cd. So as I opened this picture and zoomed in on it I realized that the image was covered with all these yellow streaks.  The pictures were scanned in as RGB images even though they were black and white prints.  This happened on Polaroid film sometimes and is very annoying.  I thought to myself, holy cow that’s gonna be a lot of cloning and healing in Photoshop.  Isn’t that what you would do?  What would you do to fix this?  Well after a few minutes of cloning and healing I realized that this would take forever and still look terrible.  So I hit F12 to revert the image and sat and thought about it for a while.  What I thought about was what am I trying to eliminate?  Yellow streaks.  Well how do you eliminate a certain color but not effect anything else?  Hmmmmmm.  There’s got to be an easy way to do this.  Now I love to read all kinds of books on Photoshop and learn all the coolest new tips and tricks.  These books are usually pretty good but for the most part they are what I like to call recipe books.  That is, a book that tells you to open an image then click here, and use this tool and then go to this channel.  Well that’s great most of the time.  But sometimes it doesn’t work and you’re stuck because of one small item.  You don’t know the basics of how certain filters and operations work in Photoshop.  A long time ago I studied Photoshop with a Jedi Master.  Barbara Binder.  She taught me how things work so that I could make decisions on how to use the program most effectively and efficiently.  So well so that I was able to take the test to be an Adobe Certified Expert (ACE) in Photoshop CS and CS2. Yeh, I passed the tests.  They are brutal and I am not very good at test taking.  But Barb got me to think about the questions and what they were really after in an answer.  What were the basics?

     Well basically I knew that I had to get rid of the YELLOW streaks.  OK, so lets open the Hue Saturation Brightness adjustment. Control + U.   First change the Master setting to the Yellows.  Then in the bottom right you click on the eye dropper with the plus next to it to select the yellows that you want to target.  Next, very carefully I clicked on one of the yellow streaks.  Then I went to the Saturation and drug it to the left down to -100.  Wow, that looks pretty good but , I can still see a little bit of streaking in the image.  Great, now what?

     Well then I thought that maybe,  just maybe I could take the Lightness slider and drag it to the left to -100 also.  I hoped and prayed that it wouldn’t just make the streaks black.  I wasn’t sure.  Then I remembered what Barb told me one day.  “Mike, let go of your feelings, and use the Force”.  Remember  she’s a Jedi Master.  So I did.

The Force is strong with this one.  Thanks Barb!  And if anyone out there would like instruction from the best teacher out there, check out Barb’s web site.  http://www.rockymountaintraining.com/index.php  If you want to see Barb’s credentials you better have some time to read.  She is an Adobe Certified Expert and Adobe Certified Instructor in practically every program they make.  She is the Yoda of Adobe training.

About mikemeyerphotopro

I've been photographing beautiful clouds and skies and landscapes for 30 years. So that's about all you'll see here. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Photoshop, Photoshop Tip. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Amazing Photoshop Tip

  1. Michele says:

    You’re a great PS Jedi Knight!

    What about converting the image to B&W to at least get rid of the yellow, and then back to RGB to finish off?

    • Definitely try it yourself because that’s the only way to learn. I always hate it when people say “oh that won’t work” and then when I ask if they have tried it and they say “no” it drives me crazy. But to answer your question, I just tried it and it left the streaks. I didn’t scan the image in color on purpose either, that was kind of a mistake. But a happy mistake anyway.
      Good to here from you!
      Mike

Leave a Reply

