Location, Location, Location !!!

   So how many times have you heard that one about buying a new house?  Plenty I’m sure and it’s absolutely true.  It’s also true when photographing common themes.  I was searching for some images to post that I hadn’t used before when I came across this one.  So I Googled “golden gate bridge” under images and there were hundreds of the great bridge in San Francisco.  I did not however see any that looked like my shot.  I think my shot is pretty cool.  One of the large red towers rising up above the hills.  Funny I how got there.

   I was in San Fran for a photo conference a few years back. Usually after all the meetings we would get a couple guys together and go out shooting.  I didn’t know the first place to start and would have ended up in all the usual touristy places if it hadn’t been for a guy name Warren White.  Who’s that you ask?  Well my good friend Jeff Revell knew Scott Kelby who knew Vincent Versace who knew Warren.  So Scott rented a mini-van and was kind enough to drive while Warren did some navigation, while Jeff and I sat in the back just waiting to see where this adventure would lead. 

   You see Warren is just not a local.  He’s a local with some serious connections.  He was a Park Ranger in the area and had access to a lot of non public places.  He is also professoinal location scout for major motion pictures.  He has worked on over a hundred movies and knows every nook and cranny of the City as well as the Parks.  Now I can’t remember the exact location of the photo but I believe we were on the edges of a campground when I shot this.  He also took us down back streets that aren’t traveled very much to get other great angles.  I will post those later.

   My point is that sometimes having a little help to get to a great spot is well worth the effort of hiring a local guide.  Fortunately for us Warren is a super nice guy and only cost us a dinner.  Thanks Warren.

About mikemeyerphotopro

I've been photographing beautiful clouds and skies and landscapes for 30 years. So that's about all you'll see here. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Photography Tip, Sunset. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

