Tornado Warning !!!

    This is surely something that the entire country has heard lately.  Especially in the last two weeks.  What the heck is going on.  Could the Mayans have been correct with the whole 2012 prediction?  Or did they just run out of space on their stone tablets?  Well I don’t know about all that and I have never seen a tornado in person but I have photographed a few skies that were in the tornado warning category.

     This was my first encounter with some extreme weather.  Unfortunately I didn’t have a clue to it.  These are called cumulus mammatus and they are whats under the giant anvil in a big thunder head cloud.  These are a sign of severe weather so be alert.

     This is the same storm system about 45 minutes later closer to sunset.  I was actually driving into this storm and didn’t realize it.  I don’t remember any tornados from this storm but there were heavy rains and wind.  So if you ever see a sky with clouds that look like cotton balls hanging down, you should turn on the TV or radio and listen to the weather.

     Here is another shot of a sky that should be taken seriously.  When listening to weather reports they always talk about rotation in the radar images.  Well this sky was definitely twirly (yes, that’s a word).  The other thing about this sky was it’s color.  It was green.  Now I have seen skies that were so green it looked like you were under water.  Let me tell you it’s scary. This shot was taken in my front yard looking straight up.  There are houses all around so you can’t see the horizon to see if there is anything big coming, like a tornado.  So again I have to listen to the weather intently when I see something like this.  I wouldn’t be able to see a tornado until it was only a few hundred yards away.  I’ve got my emergency plan in place, do you?  My thoughts and prayers are with all the folks in the south these days.  Still, isn’t dangerous weather beautiful?  I just think it’s kinda cool no matter what man can build, mother nature can always whip an F5 and shred it.

About mikemeyerphotopro

I've been photographing beautiful clouds and skies and landscapes for 30 years. So that's about all you'll see here. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Clouds, Sunset. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tornado Warning !!!

  1. Susan says:

    Thank you, Mike. I googled “clouds with cotton balls hanging down” because we saw clouds like that while driving from Ohio to Iowa on the day of the tornado in Joplin, MO. I have never seen clouds like that, but thought they were foreboding. I am glad to know that. We then passed through some severe wind and rain. Also, the green sky -I was in Columbus, Ohio on the day of the deadly tornado in the ’70’s in Xenia, Ohio. I remember looking out a picture window toward the west and the sky was a shade of green I will never forget. Thank you for the great info. – I will send a link to my kids who witnessed the cotton ball clouds.

    • Hey Susan, Glad you stopped by. I plan on putting up some more good cloud pics over the summer. I love to see storms but really feel for the folks in Joplin. My neighbohood is surrounded with trees so I wouldn’t see a tornado here until it was right on top of us. Fortunately Northern Virginia is relatively tornado free. Stay safe out there.

      Mike

Leave a Reply

