Moon Camera Settings

   No pics today but as promised yesterday I have the settings that I used for my moon shots.  I typically don’t think what an exposure was is very important if you got the shot.  Since you can always adjust the ISO, Shutter Speed and Aperture you could tell someone almost anything about your settings.  That is if they are close to being realistic.  For instance my setting could not have had a thirty second exposure because the moon moves too fast and it would be blurred with that time.  Also I find it very amusing when a magazine lists what kind of tri-pod or memory card and imaging software someone uses on a particular shot.  If I see a shot I don’t care for or that isn’t technically correct I always joke to myself:  ” ha, he used a Lexar card, fool, he should have used a SanDisc for that shot. Pffttt, what a beginner”.  Yeh like that would have helped make the image look better.

   So here are the settings I used for the Crescent Moon:  ISO 100, 1/8 sec @ f5.6.  And for the Full Crescent Moon I used an ISO 800, 2 sec @ f5.6.   The difference was  seven stops. The only other thing I did was to use the self timer on the camera to help with shake.  The lens is a Canon EF 70-300mm 1:4 – 5.6 IS USM. This is a medium level lens. I am sure the 300 f2.8 would be a lot sharper but that’s a very pricey lens.  I know, I know, I should have used a Lexar card as well,  oh well maybe next time.

About mikemeyerphotopro

I've been photographing beautiful clouds and skies and landscapes for 30 years. So that's about all you'll see here. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Moon, Night Time, Photography Tip, Photoshop Tip. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

