Crescent Moon

Last post we talked about the full moon.  In fact it was a SUPERMOON !!!  Well tonight as I was driving home I noticed the last little sliver of the moon before it disappears, the crescent moon.  The clouds were floating by blocking the moon every few minutes so I wasn’t sure if I would be able to capture it.  I quickly set up in my front yard with a tri-pod and started shooting.  This was the sliver that I caught as the moon was quickly falling below the horizon.

Now this is the really cool shot!  It’s amazing how the moon changes shape and people wonder where it goes.  Well kids, it’s still all there you just can’t see it with you eye because of the contrast difference.  But what if you were able to overexpose the visible part of the moon to reveal the rest of it.  That’s exactly what I did here.  Not really a difficult shot, it just took a little trial and error.  I’m sorry I can’t remember what the exact exposures were but I believe it was about six stops more.  I’ll have to check and get back.  I just love the way the bottom portion of the moon looks like it is on fire.  That’s so cool.  But wait, there’s more!!!

This final shot was the most difficult of all.  I wanted to capture all the stars in the sky plus show how light actually does bend around objects.  You can clearly see it here.  OK, well actually I just cranked up the fill light and exposure settings in camera raw to get the above effect.  Still it makes me wonder, did I really capture all those stars or is it just the noise from my electronic image?  The world may never know.  Happy Star Gazing.

About mikemeyerphotopro

I've been photographing beautiful clouds and skies and landscapes for 30 years. So that's about all you'll see here. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Moon, Night Time. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

