Super Moon

   So did you see it?  The moon?  The SUPER MOON!!!   This past weekend there was a full moon on Saturday.  So I made plans to travel to the beach to try and get a nice shot of the moon as it was rising on the horizon.  I have a really nice shot of the sun rising on a super clear day and I wanted to repeat it with the moon.  Actually the shot I would like to replicate is a scene from one of my favorite movies: Joe Versus the Volcano.  Joe is out in the middle of the ocean on his raft of luggage when he sees the moon rising.  Of course in the movie it is a special effect but I know I can get a shot just like it.  Only problem is haze.  Saturday as my wife and I were looking out the balcony at the hotel she spotted the moon first.  “There it is” she says.  “Where, I can’t see anyting.”  It was barely a blob.  Not even as much as I have above.  But the higher it got it the sky the less haze there was and…

 the clearer the moon became.  I have a few more nice shots from Saturday night plus I will detail how I got these shots.  It’s not as easy as it seems so stay tuned.  But as far as the SUPER MOON goes that was some crazy title that the news media came up with.  I had never heard it called that before.  I did know that the moon does get a little closer and farther away through out the year but I don’t think it’s by that much.  If it was we would have high tides that would certainly cause flooding.  Everyone at work today was amazed at how big the SUPER MOON  was.  I tried to explain to them that it’s reall just an optical illusion when the moon is low on the horizon that it looks so big.  Well they enjoyed the  SUPER MOON and that’s really all that counts.

   So keep checking back this week and I will have a few more shots to show,  Enjoy!!!

About mikemeyerphotopro

I've been photographing beautiful clouds and skies and landscapes for 30 years. So that's about all you'll see here. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Beach, Moon, Night Time, Sunset, Water. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Super Moon

  1. Dana Moos says:

    Wow, Mike, very different from my capture but very nice! I like the subtle colors…maybe there was more humidity in the air than mine!

  2. Great pic! I love all your moon shots.

  3. Hey Dana, yes there was a little haze on the horizon. I think that’s what also makes the moon get elongated in shape. I wish I had the Canon 300f2.8 L to shoot through but I don’t have $4700 burning a hole in my pockect right now.
    Thanks Maria, I have two more shots to share with everyone.

    Mike

Leave a Reply

