Waterfalls

   Here’s a picture I took in Shenandoah National Park many moons ago. I think it was 1989.  A lovely little set of waterfalls along a trail.  After looking at this image for a while it got me to thinking:  What would Ansel do?  He did shoot in this National Park a little bit.  In fact in the latest book of his work: “Ansel Adams in the National Parks”,  there are a few pictures from here.  That book, by the way is really great because it has a number of never before seen pictures.  So I didn’t use an 8×10 view camera, just a 35mm with some Kodachrome loaded in it.  But the one thing I have that Ansel never had is Photoshop.  I am sure if he had lived just a few more years he would have been using Photoshop for sure.  My only real trick in this image was my color correction.  I used the color balance tool to warm up the shadows a little and to add some magenta to tone down the greens.  Some of this may have been due to the development of the film or from the scanning of the film.  Either way score another plus for digital cameras and imaging.

   Here is the same shot with my Anselesque B&W conversion.  Not too bad but, now you see why I shoot in color.  Ansel is the B&W master and I like to think of myself as a Master of color.  So what do you think?

About mikemeyerphotopro

I've been photographing beautiful clouds and skies and landscapes for 30 years. So that's about all you'll see here. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Ansel Adams, Landscape, Water. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

