Death Star

That’s no moon.

Until this battle station is fully operational, we are vulnerable. The Rebel Alliance is too well equipped, they’re more dangerous than you realize. 
 Dangerous to your starfleet, Commander; not to this battle station.

I’ve been waiting for you, Obi-Wan. We meet again, at last. The circle is now complete. When I left you, I was but the learner; now I am the master.

Only a master of evil, Darth.

So I hope you enjoy the pics here.  I love Star Wars just like 3 billion other people. Building the Lego Death Star was a whole lot of fun.  I think I spent about twenty hours on it.  I just took my time so I could enjoy myself.  Also so I wouldn’t get twenty pages done and then realize I placed one brick one click too far from an edge and have to tear apart 200 pieces.  Anyway the above shots were done with my 15-85 zoom. I used the on camera flash and cranked the aperture all the way down.  That gave me very good depth of field.  But the shot of the big laser cannon was done with a multiple shot stack in Photoshop.  This is a technique where you take several shots of an object at different focal points.  I should have used a tri-pod for optimal results but I just stood still and hand held.  First I focused on the tip of the laser, which by the way was the craziest, hardest part of this whole thing to put together, and then took three more shots moving farther away from the tip with each shot.  Then I loaded the images into Photoshop into a stack and then blended the layers together.  It’s fairly easy to do but you need a little preparation and you have to make your focus points relatively close together.  I don’t have a studio where I could have hung this in front of a black background which is what would have been the easy thing to do.  I had to mask out the background a little with black.  Then to create the stars in the first shot I simply chose the Brush Tool with a star pattern and varied the size a few times.  If anybody has any questions feel free to ask.

May the Force be with you!

About mikemeyerphotopro

I've been photographing beautiful clouds and skies and landscapes for 30 years. So that's about all you'll see here. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Lego, Moon. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Death Star

  1. Luis says:

    Dude..I am sooooooooo jealous you have the the LEGO Death Star!!!!

Leave a Reply

