Backyard Deer

   I’m not a wildlife photographer, but I do play one at home.  This afternoon as I was contemplating what I was going to post on the blog today I just happened to look outside.  Hey look there’s a deer!  And another one, oh cool there’s three.  Wait a minute there are two more over there.  Holy cow!!!  Five deer right behind my backyard fence.  Now for some of you folks out there that live in remote backwoods areas in the great US of A this might not be a big deal.  But I live in Nothern Virginia about 15 miles from Washington DC.  There are major roads all around my house.  This strip of trees is only 200 feet wide and follows a creek for about a quarter mile.  We have seen the deer before but I’ve never seen this many all at once.  I am just amazed at how tough these critters are.  We have lots of squirrels and I’ve even seen a fox or two.  But they are relatively small compared to a deer, let alone five.

   So now for the photography part of this post.  I used my T2i and my 15-85 lens.  Not very long but I was only about 80 feet from the animals.  I’ll have to get a longer lens and go hunting for more animals in the wilds of NoVa.  They say coyotes have been spotted in Fairfax County.  Now that would be the ultimate kill, err photo shoot.  Happy Hunting!

About mikemeyerphotopro

I've been photographing beautiful clouds and skies and landscapes for 30 years. So that's about all you'll see here. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Wildlife. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

