Storm Front Coming…

Several years ago I was in Chincoteague, Virginia with my family.  During our seven day stay there we had six nights of terrific storms roll through.  The fronts of the storms were so well distinguished that it was as if someone was pulling a blanket over our heads.  This shot was looking east towards the Assateague Lighthouse.

In this shot you can see the waves are starting to build up as the wind howled through the area.  It was really neat that these all came through just after the sun went down. It’s that time of day when there is still plenty of light out side and you probably wouldn’t turn on your headlights if you were driving and then bamm!!!  Hey, who turned out the lights?  I imagine that when a tornado approaches it’s a similar sensation.

This last image is my favorite failure. It’s an almost had it shot.  I liked the overhead cloud cover the best.  I liked the blowing grass to the left and the street lights in the distance.  Only problem?  No tripod so it’s really fuzzy.  So why am I showing it to you?  Well this is the lesson I learned here.  Always use a tripod when possible and double check your focus.  I had a good exposure but the shutter speed was to slow for hand holding.  Also, since I was in a hurry I just basically held the camera up and hit the button.  The camera focused on a railing that I cropped out in the foreground of the image.  I’m sure I was shooting with a wide open aperture, F2.8,  so nothing else was in sharp focus.  So even if there is death and impending doom lurking overhead, take your time and do the shot right.  Otherwise get back inside where it’s safe and just enjoy the show.

P.S.  I am still working on the Lego Death Star.  I think I have 12 hours into it.  Only 9,988 hours left to go.  Actually I am about 3/4 of the way through.  It’s so cool, I will definitely post completed pictures when I’m done.  And maybe some tips on Macro photography.

About mikemeyerphotopro

I've been photographing beautiful clouds and skies and landscapes for 30 years. So that's about all you'll see here. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Beach, Clouds, Water. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Storm Front Coming…

  1. George C says:

    Mike,
    Nice job on the blog. . .
    I didn’t read all the writeup. But there is one shot that is out of this world:
    2011/01/storm_front_1.jpg
    So out in the distant, yet the light house stands out like a lone star.

    The moon series looks better on a larger monitor. Like the one where the moon merges with the sea!

    Thanks for sharing.
    George

Leave a Reply

