HDR Boat

Hi folks, sorry I have been so delinquent with my blogging lately.  Been really busy with holiday preparations.  Also I have been trying a bunch of different ways to scan my old slides to use them for HDR and to just get more detail out of them.  The above picture is of my boat from a while back shot on Kodachrome.  It’s obviously underexposed.  The front of the boat and the white canvas really threw off the meter or rather the photographer.  Since a camera’s meter tries to make everything grey it did a really nice job here.  But instead of a Zone Five rendering it should have been about a Zone Eight.  Three stops under.  So off to the scanner we go…

Whew.  That’s much better.  Not fantastic but there is a lot more detail.  The shadows in front of the boat were totally gone so that’s why they look noisy here.  But the boat itself and the background look better.  I used an Epson scanner and played with the midtone slider. The top photo was what a normal no correction scan looked like.  I also did some color correction and curves in Photoshop.  The biggest problem I have been running into with scanning is alignment issues.  Some times the five scans would line up and other times they wouldn’t.  It’s very difficult for a flat bed scanner to go back and forth and hit the same pixel every time.  I don’t have a very expensive scanner at home but if you have a Nikon Coolscan 4000 or something similar it would probably do a much better job.  Still if you have some slides or negatives that you would like a good print from,  HDR scanning is still the way to go.  Happy Holidays everybody!!!

About mikemeyerphotopro

I've been photographing beautiful clouds and skies and landscapes for 30 years. So that's about all you'll see here. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Water. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

