The Grand Finale

So here is what you all have been waiting for.  The culmination of many hours of work and a very steep learning curve.  This was my first Photoshop composition ever and it was created using Version 3.0.  Not CS3…3.0.  So there were layers involved but they were pretty basic.  I used the clone stamp tool a whole lot to reproduce the rocks on the far edge of the water.  Making the cut out of the house was very intesive because the selection tools weren’t the greatest either.  I was just having fun with this image, nothing serious.  No deep artistic meaning to any of it.  But here’s the funniest part of this picture.  The only thing that is definitely not real are the fish.  Bass don’t swim upstream and jump up falls like  salmon do.  I could have a house in front of a river like this but it’s really Niagra Falls.  And the trees are from a few posts back.  So look at the last couple posts and you will be able to see the original images and how I used them.  I know this image is small on screen but I have made prints as large as 30×30 and it holds up very well.  Moral of this story is you can’t belive everything you see.  Especially online.  But I give you my Boy Scouts promise that I will always have full disclosure if I have used too much Photoshop.

About mikemeyerphotopro

I've been photographing beautiful clouds and skies and landscapes for 30 years. So that's about all you'll see here. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Fall Color, Landscape, Water. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Grand Finale

  1. Amy says:

    Wow! I would love to visit that cabin, too bad it is only in your imagination! Awesome job!

    • Well actually the cabin is on Lake Anna in Central Virginia. The water’s not exactly that close but the trees are similar and the fish came out of the lake. A lot of the sunsets on this blog were shot from the deck of the house. Thanks for the comments. Hope to hear from you again.

      Mike

Leave a Reply

