Horizontal or Vertical ?

Sorry for the lack of blogging lately, been kinda busy with stuff.  So here’s the 64 thousand dollar question for the day.  Do you shoot horizontally or vertically?  I usually shoot with my camera in normal mode which means that it’s positioned horizontally.  That’s how our eyes are aligned right?  You tend to look side to side when you look out over the horizon.  I have two pictures here that were shot only a minute or two apart.  They both look similar so I guess it depends on whether there is better sky or better horizon.

I didn’t just crop into one picture to make the other although you could.  The only problem with that is it takes a lot of pixels in your image to crop that much and still be able to make a print.  So my suggestion is simply shoot both ways when you are unsure and then check out the image later on your hi-def monitor.  I kinda like both here equally.  Another option to consider is where the image is going to be displayed.  Sometimes you have a space in your house that is just screaming for a nice large verical image.  Anyway tell me what you all think.  Hope you like these two shots either way.

About mikemeyerphotopro

I've been photographing beautiful clouds and skies and landscapes for 30 years. So that's about all you'll see here. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Clouds, Sunset, Water. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

