Bountiful Bread

I love bread.  I know, too many carbs.  I hear ya Jeff.  Well this was shot when I didn’t have to worry about things like carbs.  Only whether or not my food assignment was going to get me a good grade.  This was photographed  with 4×5 Kodak Ektachrome sheet film, ASA 100.  Back when things were rated by ASA and not ISO.  I wasn’t really sure how to light this so I went for a dramatic side lighting.  Then used a little bit of fill light to make sure that the shadow details were still visible.  Yeh, no HDR back in 1985 either.  Again lots of Polaroid film and several bracketed shots of chromes to get this.  I was able to use Speedotron Black Line lights and good flash meters to make things a litte bit easier but still view cameras are tricky at best to work with.  We would put our chromes down on a light table and everyone would stand around and stare at them.  The teacher would make his comments and then usually give you your grade right there.  When somebody asked why I shot this in front of a window using sunlight I knew I had the “A”  I had worked hard for.

About mikemeyerphotopro

I've been photographing beautiful clouds and skies and landscapes for 30 years. So that's about all you'll see here. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bountiful Bread

  1. Emilie Wheat says:

    Wow, I feel like I am standing right there in a beautiful little bakery, with the sun streaming right through the window. mmmm, sweet

Leave a Reply

