Flowers

I thought I might show you all something a little different from the Mike Meyer Photo Collection.  I have some very nice studio shots that I took back in college when I had access to all kinds of expensive toys.  This was a shot I did for one of my assignments.  I can’t really remember what the assignment was but it turned out nice anyway.  I used a 4×5 view camera to make this image.  Now for all you whipper snappers out there, this was way before digital was a twinkle in your daddy’s eye.  We used to shoot 4×5 Ektachrome and process the E-6 film ourselves in a hand line dip and dunk tank.  Now that was fun because you had to be in total darkness for about 25 minutes until you could turn on the lights. Ah, the good old days, leaning over 100 degree chemistry while you strained your eyes on a barely visible timer so you would know when to agitate and when to dunk into the next tank.  The other part to no digital was that you didn’t get an instant preview so we would use Polaroid film.  I think the film cost us about $1.50 per shot.  So you would shoot and adjust your exposure and then shoot and adjust your lights and then shoot another because you missed something in the first two shots.  So there’s $4.50 and you haven’t even loaded your chrome film yet.  I think the Ektachrome went for about a dollar a sheet.  If you were smart you would bracket the final exposure at least by one under and one over because the chemical process wasn’t always accurate.  Seven bucks for one shot, if you were good, sometimes maybe more.  And thus the term “starving college student” was born.  Of course after getting an image like the one above it was always worth it.

About mikemeyerphotopro

I've been photographing beautiful clouds and skies and landscapes for 30 years. So that's about all you'll see here. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Flowers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

