Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Here’s a little free advertising for the wonderful folks at the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel in Rehoboth Beach, Deleware.  It’s a great place to stay so go book your rooms now.  As for the photograph it’s a good example of mixed lighting at night.  I used a slow shutter speed of 1/60 @F8 with the ISO set at 1600.  This started out as a high ISO noise test for my camera which I think it passed.  The grain is fairly low here.  But you can see all the yellow or tungsten lighting from the hotel itself.  But then you notice the front corner looks like it has good color balance.  That’s because I also used a flash for this shot.  I was also curious to see how much of the building my flash would cover.  You can tell that it only went down to the second blue canopy and then started to drop off.  If I wanted to get a color correct image I would have set my white balance to tungsten and then used a lower ISO and even lower shutter speed to capture all the light.  Even then it’s still hard to get consistency as you can see that the side canopy has a much yellower cast than the others.  They must have put a different kind of light bulb in that one.  I could have laboriously fixed all this in Photoshop but just remember, it’s much better, faster, cleaner and easier to do it correctly in camera in the first place.  OK, so have you made your reservations yet.  The beach is really wonderful this time of year.

About mikemeyerphotopro

I've been photographing beautiful clouds and skies and landscapes for 30 years. So that's about all you'll see here. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Night Time. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

