Nighttime at the Beach

I love the beach.  And as strange as it sounds I think I like it even more at night.  It becomes very mysterious and dark and scary.  So when I am at the beach in November it’s dark a lot earlier and I don’t have to stay up late to get great shots like this.  This is from our hotel in Rehoboth Beach, DE.  It was a full moon but also very cloudy. The moon would poke out from the clouds every now and then so I got the idea to make a long exposure and see what I got.  Actually on the back of my camera it didn’t look anything like this.  This image is almost straight out of the camera, basically setting the highlight and shadow points.  I used a thirty second exposure like I did for the lightning.  The foreground was lit by the hotel and boardwalk lights.  As you can see high tide and full moon make for a very short walk to the water.  I think there was also a storm brewing off the Carolinas that was helping to push the water up so far.  Lucky for us we were on the third floor.  I have more shots for this week to show the high and low tide differences. So stay tuned…

About mikemeyerphotopro

I've been photographing beautiful clouds and skies and landscapes for 30 years. So that's about all you'll see here. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Clouds, Night Time, Water. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nighttime at the Beach

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Nighttime at the Beach | Mike Meyer Photo Pro -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

