Even More Lightning

This shot was from the second night of the week that we had these awesome lightshows.  It was the same night as my Big Bolt shot on my main page banner.  The storm was moving out to sea so the bolts are not quite as big.  I thought this was one was pretty cool though with the three main bolts hitting the water and all the little ones dancing around the sky.  I should have one more nice shot for tomorrow’s post so make sure you stay tuned.

About mikemeyerphotopro

I've been photographing beautiful clouds and skies and landscapes for 30 years. So that's about all you'll see here. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Lightning, Night Time. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Even More Lightning

  1. corina says:

    Found you thru a link on the photowalkpro blog… nice lightning shots! I haven’t been able to capture any of my own, yet, but will try when I get the chance.

    • Thanks Corina. Lightning is tricky and dangerous to photograph although fairly straight forward. These were all thirty second exposures at F5.6 and F8. The storm rolled right over my hotel so basically all I had to do was center the camera on the horizon and hit the shutter. After the preview if I didn’t get any bolts I deleted the shot and pressed the shutter again. If a big flash went off just before the shutter closed I would wait about fifteen seconds before pressing the shutter again. It was kinda like recording the entire storm non-stop. Just be careful if you try it yourself.

      Mike

Leave a Reply

