Cloud Lightning

I love the beach.  Especially when you get a good storm that rolls in directly over your hotel.  That’s what happened to me a couple years ago while staying in Ocean City, MD.  We had a nice room on the 5th floor with a balcony.  So when this lighning storm started up and rolled right over us, naturally I went outside and set up my camera on a tripod to photograph it.  Now it retrospec this was very dangerous.  I should have used a wireless remote from behind the glass doors.  Anyway I used a 30 second exposure and varied the F-stop unitl the exposure looked right.  This allowed me to show the beach and some detail in the water without the sky being blown out.  As this storm went by all the lightning bolts were just going from cloud to cloud.  On my main page in the banner I have the one shot of the bolt hitting the water.  That night all the bolts were hitting the water but this night they were all staying up in the sky.  I have a few more really nice shots from these two storms that I will share throughout the week. Enjoy!

About mikemeyerphotopro

I've been photographing beautiful clouds and skies and landscapes for 30 years. So that's about all you'll see here. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Clouds, Lightning, Night Time. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cloud Lightning

  1. Maria says:

    ooooooh….pretty one!

  2. danger dan……….or mike in this case — Good Stuff!!

Leave a Reply

