Twirly Clouds

For all my viewers in Iowa, Kansas or Oklahoma I’m sure you have seen skies like this many times in the Spring and Summer months.  But for folk that live near me in Northern Virginia this is pretty rare.  It’s that blue, green sky color that just screams “Dorothy, get to the storm cellar”.  I was sure that we were getting a tornado.  The winds picked up and the clouds were starting to rotate very quickly.  This was just straight up from my front yard.  I didn’t see any lightning, or hear any thunder.  I was waiting for that freight train sound that everyone says a twister sounds like.  Like I said yesterday this would be another photo that could be easily faked in Photoshop with the liquify filter and some strong contrast.  Honestly this was exactly how it looked.  Some day I’d like to do a tornado chasing trip but for now I’ll just hope for more crazy weather.  They say it’s part of global warming but I’m convinced it’s part of a government conspiracy weather experiment 😉

About mikemeyerphotopro

I've been photographing beautiful clouds and skies and landscapes for 30 years. So that's about all you'll see here. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Clouds. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Twirly Clouds

  1. Large gray clouds that twirl towards their bases give me an intonation of the heavenly paradise. I had such an experience last Saturday when all Earthly worries vanished for a timeless instant.

Leave a Reply

