Sun Rays

Now here’s an early shot from my digital days.  So you might be thinking hey,  that’s pretty easy to drop a ray of sunshine coming out of a cloud using Photoshop.  Well you would be right, it would be very easy…if you’re good.  And I’m very good with Photoshop but here’s the thing.  I didn’t use photoshop on this image except to set the contrast to how I visualized the final picture.  Visualize: that’s a term Ansel Adams use A LOT !!! His vision was awesome but I think he also just brough out the beauty in what he saw to the final print.  That’s what I have done here.  No wild colors, no crazy HDR contrast,  just the proper contrast for how I saw these clouds and the ray of light coming through.  This was shot from my deck out back one afternoon as the storm clouds of a typical summer afternoon storm were rolling through.  I just love the way the clouds have the rim lighting on them and then that one beam of light is shooting through.  A few minutes later there were multiple beams of light but I thought this was way more spectacular.  What do you all think?

About mikemeyerphotopro

I've been photographing beautiful clouds and skies and landscapes for 30 years. So that's about all you'll see here. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Clouds. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

