Mining Creek

This is the creek where I broke my back for hours  (ok really only 20 minutes) to come up with a few flakes of gold.  Typical Juneau weather: cloudy, misty, 65 degrees. Beautiful !!! This was in July.  We had a week of near 100 degree weather here in Washington DC and then we headed up to Alaska for some very nice 65 degree coolness.  You can see the old mining equipment in the background that has been abanoned.  During the Yukon gold rush of 1898 there were tens of thousands of people that headed up to Alaska and Canada to try and get rich. Most of the people didn’t know how hard the conditions would be or how much hard work it would take just to make a living.  Plus the mining season is only a few months before everything freezes up.  So if you didn’t get rich in three or four months it was time to head home.  Like I said yesterday, to some the scenery was so breathtaking that they just had to stay.  Lucky for them.

About mikemeyerphotopro

I've been photographing beautiful clouds and skies and landscapes for 30 years. So that's about all you'll see here. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Alaska. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mining Creek

  1. Logan Miller says:

    Hey Mike!

    I really like this image. I’ve never been blessed to go to Alaska, but I’ve always wanted to go. This shot just draws me into the scene. It just seems so serene. Thanks for sharing it!

    Logan

    • Thanks Logan, It was a wonderful trip. 7 day cruise from Vancouver to Juneau, Skagway, Glacier Bay, Ketchikan and back. Holland America was the cruise line and they were fantastic. It was for my honeymoon back in 1997. I’ve been bugging my wife to go back ever since. I would love to go up into the main part of the state since we really just scratched that bottom part. Take Care.
      Mike

  2. Ed Rosack says:

    Hi Mike,

    Nice blog! And it sure brings back memories. Here’s one of my blog entries about our trip. Scroll down to see my photo of this same place. You ventured a bit further down stream than I did and captured the falls in your image.

    http://ed.rosack.com/wordpress/2009/10/05/our-vacation-–-ch-3-other-alaskan-and-seattle-photos/

    Ed

    • That’s pretty wild that you were at almost the exact same spot. I checked out your blog and you have some wonderful shots too. I went to college in Jensen Beach, FL and have been through Palaka. Small world huh!?
      Mike

Leave a Reply

