Smoky Lava

This picture was actually taken before we saw the rainbow.  Our helicopter ride was from Hilo out to the volcanos and then back over some waterfalls.  Volcanos are so cool, err I mean hot to watch and I’ve seen some amzing photos.  This one is not so amazing.  I didn’t really see the lava until I made some prints later.  The sun was shining and it washed out the red lava.  So if you are going to photograph a volcano and it’s lava flow I would recommend going in the twilight hours so that the lava really stands out.  And if you can get lava hitting the water at that time then you can see how it explodes when it hits the water.  We were able to see it from a distance on our cruise ship but my limited lens selection didn’t allow me to get close enough.

     On another note a few weeks ago I mentioned that I was trying to do some scanning in HDR.  Well after a lot of trial and error I figured it out.  Every slide or negative will be different so if you want to try it you will have to do some trial and error yourself.  Basically what I was able to do with my Epson 3200 scanner was adjust the exposure for under, normal and over.  Using the histogram feature I set the black and white points and then did several scans by moving the exposure in the Exposure tab.  It worked pretty well but since every piece of film is different and most scanners are slightly different it would be impossible for me to put down and exact directions.  So from now on I will be using HDR in camera.  I have tried it only a couple times with my new T2i.  Nothing great yet but I am hopeful 🙂

About mikemeyerphotopro

I've been photographing beautiful clouds and skies and landscapes for 30 years. So that's about all you'll see here. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Hawaii, Water. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

