White Clouds – Blue Sky

WOW !!! Mike, that’s the most clever title yet!  Well what should it be called?  Since the last two posts dealt with clouds that almost get some color and another that goes crazy with saturated reds and oranges, I thought maybe today I would do plain and simple.  This is an example of just a pure white cloud formation.  I liked it’s structure and cropped it to a pleasing composition.  I think the seriously clear, deep blue sky though really sets it apart.  This was not shot using a polarizing filter.  Imagine if it was?  The sky might have gone black.  So why not convert it to a black and white photo.  Cause that was Ansel’s gig and I am terrible at black and white photography.  I could never make a good print or capture a good exposure.  One of my classmates was John Huba. He was really good at it and is now a very successful commercial photographer and Canon sponsored shooter in NYC. I can remember helping him with color and he helping me with my black and white. I was lucky to get a C.  So anyway I’m here to tell you that I am sticking with color.

     On a side note to yesterday’s slam against modern technology, I was mostly kidding.  I have used a Nikon D3 and if it weren’t so heavy and expensive I would love to have one.  Instead I just purchased a Canon T2i. I was very interested in it’s 1080P video capturing capabilities and the 18 megapixel sensor seemed like enough power to make some nice big prints.  I haven’t tested the low light sunrise / sunset shooting capabilities yet but there’s a chance of thunderstorms tonight.  Maybe I’ll get lucky and have something new for tomorrow.  See ya !

About mikemeyerphotopro

I've been photographing beautiful clouds and skies and landscapes for 30 years. So that's about all you'll see here. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Clouds. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to White Clouds – Blue Sky

  1. Michele says:

    Congrats on the new purchase!

    • Hey Michele, just to let you know I am loving my new camera. The image quality is stunning and the video quality is amazing. I use the HDMI port on the camera to plug directly into my HDTV and the video looks fantastic. The audio is also pretty dang good for mono. I do plan on buying an external mic that records in stereo. That should bring it up to fantastic. I of course will only be recording my kids’ b-day parties and the like but it will be much better than trying to use a camcorder with one hand and my still camera with the other. Take care.
      Mike

Leave a Reply

