Rocky Ocean Sunrise

In my post the other day I couldn’t remember the name of the place where I had shot it.  So I did a quick search on Google maps and found it immediately.  Gilberts Bar House of Refuge, Stuart, Florida.  It’s just south of Jensen beach.  The shot the other day was just south of the lighthouse there and I was pleasantly surprised to see the rocks in the satellite photos. FYI, I can spend hours on Google Earth and Bing Maps in Birds Eye view.  So this photo today was shot just to the north side of the lighthouse.  Very early morning as you can see no detail in the rocks.  The colors aren’t as vibrant or red as I usually like but I like the way the sun is outling the clouds.  This was shot on Ektachrome film. Now some of you may be saying that this image would be a perfect candidate for a HDR (high dynamic range) exposure.  It would definitely look different, that’s for sure.  But I like the blackness of the rocks.  That’s how you can tell that it’s early morning.  HDR is great for some things but, if you couldn’t see something in your initial visualization, then I think it’s best to keep some details out. That’s just my humble opinion.  I have been playing with some negatives and slides with my scanner and doing multiple exposure scans to create a HDR image from the film.  I haven’t quite perfected it but I feel confident that I soon will.  Like the Evil scientist working on a new secret formula.  Muahaha !!!

About mikemeyerphotopro

I've been photographing beautiful clouds and skies and landscapes for 30 years. So that's about all you'll see here. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Clouds, Water. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rocky Ocean Sunrise

  1. Jac says:

    Let the silhouette stay, is the outcry from this early morning person!
    HDR is great when used as a tool to help out on some shots. But here, where the sun is decidedly on the other side of the rocks you have to expect to see shadows. Long shadows and decisive contrasts are part of the beauty of sunrises. In this picture you can see the shadow in the clouds, the shadows on the waves, and of course, the shadow on the rocks because the point of light says that is where they should be. If HDR was used to remove the shadows, then the source of light would be a lie.
    Every photog needs to do at least two things, capture great light and tell a story. Most times in landscape photography, light is a main part of that story. If we start telling the story without telling that the light came from where it is suppose to be, well, folks won’t buy the story.
    Okay, time for me to take some Valium, sorry for stealing the soap stand. But HDR has its place, and that place is not in every photo. Just as Ansel Adams did not use dodge and burn on every photo, so we must not use HDR on every shot.
    If you are getting the idea that I like the photo ‘as is’, you would be correct. 🙂

  2. Very well said. I’m a huge Adams fan, have most of his books, have seen original prints by him and I know he would use HDR. But like you said it would be “to capture great light and tell a story”. I love that. I will have to use your quote from now on.
    Thanks Jac,
    Mike

Leave a Reply

