Lucky Sunrise

The other day I talked about how to capture beautiful morning light and the inevitable sunrise.  This time I’m going to talk about being lucky.  But I believe that being lucky is;  “being prepared when an opportunity presents itself”.  I’m not sure who said that first but it is very true.  So how was I prepared for this lucky sunrise?  Well first I am a good boy scout and our motto is “be prepared”.  Next I was driving through the mountains in Maryland one very cloudy and foggy morning.  As I was climbing higher in elevation the fog was clearing out.  Then I noticed some very strange lighting almost like the sun was rising behind be. I quickly and safely pulled the car over.  Jumped out with my camera and tripod and set-up this shot.  I got this one and another with the full sun above the horizon.  I felt this one was more dramatic.  So I was lucky that all the fog was hovering in  the valley below and that the sun rose above it, but prepared by keeping my eyes open for a good shot no matter what.

About mikemeyerphotopro

I've been photographing beautiful clouds and skies and landscapes for 30 years. So that's about all you'll see here. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Clouds, Sunrise. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lucky Sunrise

  1. Maria says:

    …breathtakingly beautiful.

    • Thanks Maria. I’m sure you all get sunrises like this as you drive through the mountains by your house. I need to come up that way and shoot some more. Maybe I could be lured with one of those giant pizzas 🙂
      Mike

  2. Logan Miller says:

    Hey, Mike!

    Beautiful image! Warm hues, great silhouette, lovely fog, and an overall clean composition. This is great!

    Logan

  3. Pingback: Tuesday Newsday

Leave a Reply

