RGB Palm Tree

Here’s a shot from a series of photos that I did at night for a school project.  I have always loved the way different light sources have different color tempuratures.  Florescent is usually green and tungsten is yellow.  So how did I get a red, green and blue palm tree?  Well in Florida they like to put different colored lights around restaurants,  buildings and the plants around them.  So I went around and found interesting subjects and lighting situations.  Most of the exposures were a couple seconds long and it was always breezy where I was so that’s where the blurring of the branches come from. The blue in this picture is mostly from the sky since this was taken a little bit past sunset.  There was a red and a green flood light facing towards the tree for the other colors.  I have a few more of these shots to share over the next few days.  I hope you enjoy them.

About mikemeyerphotopro

I've been photographing beautiful clouds and skies and landscapes for 30 years. So that's about all you'll see here. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Night Time. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to RGB Palm Tree

  1. Jac says:

    Those deep rich colors really do grab the eye. Can you imagine doing the same shot today with the capability of an iso around 3200 or even 6400?

    • You could definitely hand hold at that speed. And with a D3 it would look great. I’m think that HDR would also be really nice since you could then use the lower less grainy ISO. This was shot with Kodak VR 100. Remember that? Well it was 1985. Wow, I must be really old 🙂

Leave a Reply

