Oily Clouds

While I was searching for another shot from Hawaii I came across this one.  What the heck is an oily cloud?  Cumuloilous Nimboilus.  It’s very rare and this particular species is only seen in one place on earth.  In Pearl Harbor, Hawaii.  This is actually at the USS Arizona Memorial in  Pearl Harbor.  When the Arizon was hit and sunk on December 7th, 1941, it sank immediately.  They never removed the ship as a grave and memorial to all who perished there.  Sixty Nine years later there is still oil rising from the wreck.  I could barely see the ship under the water but on top the oil shimmered in the sunlight making this very interesting pattern.  I suppose I could have kept this shot until December but I was very excited to show it now.  Maybe I can show it again in December.  Remember that’s Cumuloilous Nimboilus.  Keep an eye out for it.

About mikemeyerphotopro

I've been photographing beautiful clouds and skies and landscapes for 30 years. So that's about all you'll see here. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Clouds, Hawaii, Water. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

