Grand Canyon

Did you know that Hawaii has it’s own grand canyon?  It’s called Waimea Canyon and it’s on the island of Kauai.  This was another destination for us on our cruise.  It’s not as big as the canyon on the Mainland but it’s just as spectacular.  Well actually I’ve only flown over the Grand Canyon so I can’t really say from personal experience.  But this view was just magnificent.  And if you remember from yesterdays post I mentioned the bright red dirt, well this time I got to stand on it.  It’s really that red.  The craziest part of this part of our trip were all the chickens that were roaming around wild.  I’m not sure where they came from but they were just as colorful as the landscape.  I’m not a big animal shooter (photography wise) so I don’t have any good shots of the crazy birds.  Just the beautiful Waimea Canyon.

About mikemeyerphotopro

I've been photographing beautiful clouds and skies and landscapes for 30 years. So that's about all you'll see here. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Hawaii. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grand Canyon

  1. Jeff Revell says:

    Okay Mike,
    It’s time to load the family into the family truckster and head to Arizona. You need a little perspective of the Grand Canyon other that the one you get from 30,000 feet. While the canyon in Waimea is probably impressive, I am guessing that it pales in comparison with the Grand Canyon. Road Trip!

    • Jeff that’s an awesome idea. Unfortunately I don’t think I have a truckster. How many hours in the car would that be? A million? Maybe if I had four weeks to take my time and drive out and back. Unless you want to help drive with me, then WE can probably cut that time in half.
      Mike

Leave a Reply

