Rising Moons

Trying to get a good shot of the moon without it becoming a blank orb in the sky is a lot trickier than it looks.  To get good detail in the moon your exposure doesn’t have to be too long. If you use the sunny sixteen rule you should be pretty close but then your clouds will be too dark.  So how did I get this shot?  Well it was pretty easy really because the moon was rising and the sun was setting behind me so it was pretty straight forward.  I did a lot of shooting in the late afternoon while in school because… well… it was my homework.

Here’s another moon shot only this time it was way past sunset and almost completely dark.  So I needed a longer exposure time to capture the gorgeous color in the clouds.  Unfortunately the moon got blown out.  I still love this shot.  I love it when the sky turns to any unexpected color for a particular time of day. Especially an Orange Sky with a Rising Moon.

About mikemeyerphotopro

I've been photographing beautiful clouds and skies and landscapes for 30 years. So that's about all you'll see here. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Clouds, Moon. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rising Moons

  1. Jeff Revell says:

    Mike,
    I love the first shot of the moon and the clouds. It reminds me of something one might see from NASA.

Leave a Reply

