Puffy Clouds

So have you ever seen clouds that look like cotton balls hanging the sky?  I think this is the only time I’ve seen these this well defined.  A big storm was rolling in when I shot this.  A little while later as the sun was going down the sky turned yellow as the cotton balls stayed there, just hanging.  Years later I was looking through a scientific book on clouds when I learned that these are very common in storms that spawn tornadoes. Some day I hope to shoot a tornado also.  Didn’t see one that day.

About mikemeyerphotopro

I've been photographing beautiful clouds and skies and landscapes for 30 years. So that's about all you'll see here. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
This entry was posted in Clouds. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Puffy Clouds

  1. Sandy says:

    Mike — The “cotton ball” clouds are way cool!! I’ve never seen them before.

  2. Michele says:

    They’re Mammatus or Mammatocumulus clouds and I love them. I’ve only seen them 3 times and the last time was 3 days ago over Barcelona. They weren’t as well-formed as these, but I was still excited to see them!

    • Thanks for the info Michele, I thought that’s what they were. Clouds get so mixed up that it’s hard to label them as just cirrus or cumulous etc. I just like the colors they produce and the way light can bounce around up there.
      Mike

      • Michele says:

        Mike:

        Here’s the link to some of the clouds that I’ve photographed in Barcelona over the past year:
        http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=129760&id=733604011&l=54fb337cef

        These were shot from our balcony, as I often look out the window and then have to grab the camera and shoot quickly before the scene changes. No time to run anywhere else!

        The Mammatus from a few days ago are on the second page.

        Your blog is now bookmarked – I’m going to like reading and looking here!

      • Thanks Michele, I did take a look at your clouds. I enjoy it when there are brightly colored clouds with some totally grey ones floating in front. I love how clouds reflect the light and also create shadows in the sky.
        Mike

  3. Lisa says:

    Nice blog! ….So, where’s the pie? ;^)

  4. Mrs. Jetson says:

    What wonderful photos. I just saw clouds strikingly similar, and the light outside was a pinkish gold (I actually googled “cotton ball clouds” to find out what they were, which is how I found you). Within minutes it was dark and the sky turned hot pink. Weather can be bafflingly beautiful.

    Anyway, thanks for sharing your pictures 🙂

    • Thank you Mrs.Jetson. How’s George doing these days? It took me many years before I found out that when you see cotton balls in the sky, really bad weather is coming. They are beautiful aren’t they! Keep coming back clouds are my favorite thing to shoot. and there are a lot on this blog.

      Mike

Leave a Reply

